Hayes grabs first ever ITZR win at Hickory!

Shawn Hayes grabs his first ever ITZR win in his first ever ITZR race tonight in the County Road Custom Millwork Late Model Challenger Series Celebrity’s Hotdogs 125 at Hickory Motor Speedway!

On the opening night of the series, the drivers had to come with extra padding in their helmets to survive the evening, as the race was marred by 16 cautions throughout the event.

Hayes did a great job avoiding incidents as he ran from his 10th starting position to find the top spot. Hayes would take the lead from Brendan R Lee, who had challenged and bested early leader Scott Rathwell on lap 30.

Hayes would receive a challenge from Nicholas Johnston late in the event but would hold him off to grab the win in his first ITZR race!

Following Hayes to the line were Johnston in 2nd, Lee in 3rd, LP Lauzier in 4th, and Blaidyn Edwards in 5th.

Ryan Dunkleberger, Aj Rogers, Kyle Martinson, Willy Howells, and Scott Rathwell rounded out the top 10.

Ethan Johnson was your Christian Iracers Fast Time Award winner for the event!
The B-Features were won by Brad Carpenter and Ean Martin.

Next week, we expect a much cleaner race as the series heads to the wide-open track out in Iowa. It’s the Iowa Speedway brought to you by Riverwood Acoustics!

Race Results:
1. Shawn Hayes
2. Nicholas Johnston
3. Brendan Lee
4. LP Lauzier
5. Blaidyn Edwards
6. Ryan Dunkleberger
7. Aj Rogers
8. Kyle Martinson
9. Willy Howells
10. Scott Rathwell
11. Jordan Harnish
12. Delmas Mears III
13. Brad Carpenter
14. Lee Norton
15. Tom Scully III
16. Angel Ortega
17. Brandon Hughes
18. Luke G. Baldwin
19. Kade Brown
20. Ean Martin
21. Ethan Johnson
22. Curtis Critchley
23. Aaron E. Johnson
24. Shane Bedford

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Our Sponsors